Created in 1989 at the initiative of the Alsace, Lorraine and Franche-Comté Regions, the Ballons des Vosges Regional Natural Park regroups 198 communes across four departments: Vosges, Haut-Rhin, Territory of Belfort and Haute-Saône.

The Ballons des Vosges Regional Natural Park is organized around a territory project, “the Charter”, which aims at ensuring the sustainable protection, promotion and harmonious development of its territory. It also works with other peripheral territories – and in close partnership with 5 door-cities and 2 conurbation communities.

Preservation and Development

The Ballons des Vosges Regional Natural Park was created around the Great Crest, the Ballon d’Alsace and the Plateau des Mille Etangs. Its perimeter encompasses the 16 Alsatian, Lorraine and Franche-Comté valleys in the Southern Vosges Mountains. In addition to its heritage preservation actions, the Park is also renowned for contributing to the economic dynamism of this medium mountain territory. To achieve this, its project is based on supporting mountain agriculture, craftsmanship transmission and the promotion of local products. The development of quality rural planning, welcoming visitors in a warm and helpful manner, and raising public awareness on environmental issues are among its actions.