Created in 1989 at the initiative of the Lorraine and Franche-Comté Regions, the Ballon des Vosges Regional Natural Park regroups 192 communes across four departments: Vosges, Haut-Rhin, Territory of Belfort and Haute-Saône.

Where territory dynamism and identity are at stake from an economic and environmental perspective. “Living in the countryside, yet within reasonable distance from the city”.

Ferme auberge Prenzieres vaches

This new attractiveness is starting to threaten the territory, as the resulting urban sprawl banalizes landscapes, endangers the agricultural land, and divides ecological corridors. The main issue for municipalities is to promote dynamism, preserve architecture and landscapes, and control urbanization within a space-saving approach. Local produce and craftsmanship remain at the heart of the sustainable development project for the territory, so that inhabitants can continue to “live and work here”.


Anne Kleindienst  
Coordinateur de secteur (Area Coordinator)
+33 (0) 389 779 024